BBC Sport
BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help

Last Updated: Monday, 26 April, 2004, 13:41 GMT 14:41 UK
Arsenal win Premiership
Henry and Viera celebrate
The overall achievement of the club has been tremendous
Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger
Arsenal became league champions for the 13th time on Sunday after a 2-2 draw against Tottenham Hotspur.

French midfielder Patrick Vieira opened the scoring following good work from Thierry Henry and Dennis Bergkamp.

Bergkamp then combined with Vieira to set up Robert Pires, who slotted home from close range.

Spurs pulled one back thanks to Jamie Redknapp's 25-yard effort and then Robbie Keane converted a late penalty after he was fouled by Jens Lehmann.

Thirty-three years ago Arsenal also won the title at White Hart Lane, though in 1971 they had to wait until the 88th minute before Ray Kennedy popped up to head the winner for Bertie Mee's side.

The Spurs team circa 2004 proved less resilient and within three minutes the visitors were ahead.

Henry's pace has been key to Arsenal's success this season and the Frenchman's speed of thought and movement provided the impetus for Vieira's breathtaking goal.

After a Spurs corner, Henry scampered away down the left wing before feeding the ball to Bergkamp.

3 mins: Vieira puts Arsenal ahead with a wonderful goal
35 mins: Pires adds a second after a more incisive approach play
63 mins: Redknapp's well-struck shot gives Spurs hope
78 mins: Pires's shot hits the bar
90 mins: Keane's late penalty earns Spurs a point
The Dutchman curled his cross into the path of Vieira, who touched the ball home.

Throughout Keane worked manfully for Spurs in attack to bring the home side back into the game.

The Republic of Ireland international won a free-kick after being fouled by Kolo Toure and Redknapp's low shot drew a competent save from Lehmann.

Keane also held the ball up well before passing to Mauricio Taricco, whose dipping shot nearly embarrassed Lehmann.

Just before the half-hour Sol Campbell had to react quickly to head the ball clear with Keane lurking.

But five minutes later Arsenal mercilessly exposed Spurs' defensive shortcomings.

Bergkamp was again the creator, his vision and weight of pass slicing opened the Spurs defence on the right as he fed Vieira.

The Arsenal captain turned the ball into the path of Pires, who calmly clipped the ball past Kasey Keller.

Spurs kept plugging away and on 62 minutes Redknapp reduced the deficit.

Brown and the substitute Defoe linked well to create an opening for Redknapp and his low shot arrowed past Lehmann.

Arsenal continued to create openings and Henry hit the side-netting while Pires rattled the crossbar.

But Spurs never gave up and in stoppage time referee Mark Halsey penalised Lehmann for a foul on Keane as a Brown corner skimmed the crossbar.

The Irishman made no mistake from the spot to earn Spurs an important point in their fight against relegation.

Tottenham: Keller, Kelly (Poyet 79), Gardner, King, Taricco (Bunjevcevic 90), Davies, Brown, Redknapp, Jackson (Defoe 45), Kanoute, Keane. Subs Not Used: Ricketts, Hirschfeld.
Booked: Redknapp, Keane.

Arsenal: Lehmann, Lauren, Campbell, Toure, Cole, Parlour (Edu 67), Vieira, Silva, Pires, Henry, Bergkamp (Reyes 80). Subs Not Used: Keown, Clichy, Stack.
Booked: Lehmann.

Attendance: 36,097.

Referee: M Halsey (Lancashire).

ALSO IN THIS SECTION Man City fall to defeat at Everton
Tuesday football -as it happened
Man Utd 2-0 Stoke
Swansea 1-1 Chelsea

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport