BBC Sport football

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 09:45 GMT, Friday, 2 May 2008 10:45 UK

Ronaldo wins writers' award again

Cristiano Ronaldo
Ronaldo won both player of the year awards last season

Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo has been named the Football Writers' Association footballer of the year for the second consecutive year.

The Portugal winger becomes only the second player - after Thierry Henry in 2004 - to retain the title.

And it follows the 23-year-old's PFA player of the year award on Sunday, which he also claimed last season.

Liverpool striker Fernando Torres and Portsmouth keeper David James finished second and third respectively.

Ronaldo's most recent award consolidates his position as the most highly-rated player in the English game.


"To score 38 goals in a season - so far - is an astonishing feat for a winger," said FWA chairman Paul Hetherington.

"He did not exactly get 100% of the vote, but from the moment voting started he moved to the front and stayed there.

"Given his age, he has the potential and ability to dominate this award for years in an unprecedented way."

C Ronaldo (Man Utd) - 2007
Thierry Henry (Arsenal) - 2006
Frank Lampard (Chelsea) - 2005
Thierry Henry (Arsenal) - 2004
Thierry Henry (Arsenal) - 2003
Robert Pires (Arsenal) - 2002
T Sheringham (Man Utd) - 2001
Roy Keane (Man Utd) - 2000

Ronaldo has been in inspirational form for United, who are on course for a Premier League and Champions League double, with only Chelsea challenging them on both fronts.

United are top of the league table from the Blues on goal difference with two matches remaining.

And the sides will also meet in the Champions League final in Moscow on 21 May.

Blackpool winger Stanley Matthews won the first Footballer of the Year award in 1948.

see also
Ronaldo's season in photos
28 Apr 08 |  Football
Ronaldo named player of the year
27 Apr 08 |  Football
Coping with Cristiano Ronaldo
31 Mar 08 |  Football
Ronaldo takes award from writers
04 May 07 |  Premier League
Ronaldo secures PFA awards double
22 Apr 07 |  Football
Henry lands writers' award
02 May 03 |  Premier League
How to watch Match of the Day
08 Oct 07 |  Match of the Day

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites